Due to damage caused by Hurricane Ian, the Lighthouse office is under construction.
We have temporarily moved to:
1506 Bayshore Gardens Pkwy Bradenton, FL 34207

+1 (941) 359-14047318 N Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34243
Hope and Empowerment for the Visually Impaired

Primary Navigation

List of Events

February 2024

Thursday February 22

1:00 pm – 2:30 pm
Lighthouse Ambassadors Group of Sarasota
Selby Library, 1331 1st St, Sarasota, FL 34236, USA

in Conference Room
We will be discussing different accessibility tools the Sarasota Library System offers to all patrons, and continue making decisions on how our new group will run.
Please contact Maddy Spencer and let her know you’re coming!
maddy.spencer@lighthouseeducationcenter.org

2:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Highlands Walk & Talk
Lakeshore Mall, 901 US Hwy 27 N, Sebring, FL 33870, USA

Meeting place: Lakeshore entrance between JCPenny and Belks

Friday February 23

12:30 pm – 2:00 pm
Virtual/Zoom Support Group

Topic: Blindness 101


Zoom Link:https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88049872031

Hosted by Erin & Gloria
Guest Speaker Randy Reedy will be presenting Blindness 101

Saturday February 24

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Sunday February 25

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Monday February 26

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Tuesday February 27

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Wednesday February 28

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Thursday February 29

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

March 2024

Friday March 1

12:45 pm – 2:00 pm
Virtual Support Group

Topic: Blindness is a spectrum lets discuss more
Resource:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E_XKRdQc_6A

Zoom Link:https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88049872031
Hosted by Erin & Gloria

Saturday March 2

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Sunday March 3

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Monday March 4

1:00 pm – 2:30 pm
Virtual/Zoom Family Support Group

Topic: Medical Trauma
Host: Erin

Erin Vincent is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting.

Join Zoom Meeting
https://lighthouseeducationcenter-org.zoom.us/j/86871723153?pwd=q0dFnj7VfA4CUDwXKANoFa0PRPXVaA.1

Meeting ID: 868 7172 3153
Passcode: 140706

One tap mobile
8884754499,,86871723153# US Toll-free

Dial by your location
• 888 475 4499 US Toll-free

Meeting ID: 868 7172 3153

Find your local number: https://lighthouseeducationcenter-org.zoom.us/u/kdrvPs81hL

Tuesday March 5

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Wednesday March 6

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Thursday March 7

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Friday March 8

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Saturday March 9

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Sunday March 10

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Monday March 11

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Tuesday March 12

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Wednesday March 13

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Thursday March 14

10:30 am – 12:00 pm
In person Support Group with Guest Speaker Accessibility & Inclusion Specialist Randy Reed
1506 Bayshore Gardens Pkwy, Bradenton, FL 34207, USA

Topic: Blindness 101
Host: Erin
Guest Speaker Randy Reed Lighthouse Accessibility & Inclusion Staff will present Blindness 101

Friday March 15

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Saturday March 16

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Sunday March 17

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Monday March 18

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Tuesday March 19

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Wednesday March 20

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Thursday March 21

2:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Virtual Book Club-Cancelled for March (Will Meet in April)

Zoom Link:https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88049872031
Meeting ID: 880 4987 2031
Phone: +1 (929) 205-6099
One tap mobile: +16465588656,,88049872031#

Join with Google Meet: https://meet.google.com/awu-soos-rpu
Or dial: (US) +1 661-527-2825 PIN: 750017008#
More phone numbers: https://tel.meet/awu-soos-rpu?pin=9191060866620&hs=7

Learn more about Meet at: https://support.google.com/a/users/answer/9282720

Friday March 22

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Saturday March 23

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Sunday March 24

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Monday March 25

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Tuesday March 26

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Wednesday March 27

10:30 am – 12:00 pm
In-Person Venice Low Vision Support Group
Frances T. Bourne Jacaranda Library, 4143 Woodmere Park Blvd, Venice, FL 34293, USA

Host: Erin Vincent Family Engagement Coordinator at941-359-1404 Ext 713

Thursday March 28

2:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Highlands Walk & Talk
Lakeshore Mall, 901 US Hwy 27 N, Sebring, FL 33870, USA

Meeting place: Lakeshore entrance between JCPenny and Belks

Friday March 29

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Saturday March 30

10:30 am – 11:30 am
Beeping Easter Eggstravaganza with Venice Lions Club
Centennial Park, 200 W Venice Ave, Venice, FL 34285, USA

Sunday March 31

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

April 2024

Monday April 1

1:00 pm – 2:30 pm
Virtual/Zoom Family Support Group

Erin Vincent is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting.

Join Zoom Meeting
https://lighthouseeducationcenter-org.zoom.us/j/86871723153?pwd=q0dFnj7VfA4CUDwXKANoFa0PRPXVaA.1

Meeting ID: 868 7172 3153
Passcode: 140706

One tap mobile
8884754499,,86871723153# US Toll-free

Dial by your location
• 888 475 4499 US Toll-free

Meeting ID: 868 7172 3153

Find your local number: https://lighthouseeducationcenter-org.zoom.us/u/kdrvPs81hL

Tuesday April 2

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Wednesday April 3

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Thursday April 4

1:00 pm – 2:30 pm
Manatee Lighthouse Ambassadors Low Vision Group
Braden River Branch Library, 4915 53rd Ave E, Bradenton, FL 34203, USA

Come to our first official Manatee Ambassadors meeting at Braden River Library held in Meeting Room 205.

What is an Ambassador? An Ambassador is a community member who has experienced vision loss and sought help from the Lighthouse for training, and would like to get into our community and share their experiences, knowledge and help others.

This is a brand-new group and our first meeting will help structure future meetings. Be a part of it!

Friday April 5

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Saturday April 6

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Sunday April 7

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Monday April 8

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Tuesday April 9

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Wednesday April 10

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Thursday April 11

10:30 am – 12:00 pm
In person Support Group Bradenton Office
1506 Bayshore Gardens Pkwy, Bradenton, FL 34207, USA

Host: Erin

1:00 pm – 2:00 pm
In-Person Book Club-
1506 Bayshore Gardens Pkwy, Bradenton, FL 34207, USA

Come early for the support group at 11 AM
Windy City by Renee Rosen, DB 92167

Friday April 12

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Saturday April 13

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Sunday April 14

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Monday April 15

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Tuesday April 16

9:00 am – 10:15 am
VIRTUAL: Bird Watching and Bird Songs with the Sarasota Audubon Society

Virtual Meeting to learn all about Bird Watching and Bird Songs. 2 Day Event, First Meeting is Virtual and we will learn about useful apps and literature, and prepare for in-person bird watching and bird songs. 2nd day of class is an in-person event at the Sarasota Audubon Nature Center.
Registration:
https://www.zeffy.com/en-US/ticketing/c6bbdb83-8bcf-44bd-af32-7ae4aa9f45ed

Join Zoom Meeting
https://lighthouseeducationcenter-org.zoom.us/j/84569522465

Meeting ID: 845 6952 2465

One tap mobile
8884754499,,84569522465# US Toll-free

Dial by your location
• 888 475 4499 US Toll-free
Meeting ID: 845 6952 2465

Wednesday April 17

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Thursday April 18

2:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Virtual Book Club-The Heaven and Earth Grocery Store (DB 115655) and Deacon King Kong (DB 98819)

Zoom Link:https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88049872031
Meeting ID: 880 4987 2031
Phone: +1 (929) 205-6099
One tap mobile: +16465588656,,88049872031#

Join with Google Meet: https://meet.google.com/awu-soos-rpu
Or dial: (US) +1 661-527-2825 PIN: 750017008#
More phone numbers: https://tel.meet/awu-soos-rpu?pin=9191060866620&hs=7

Learn more about Meet at: https://support.google.com/a/users/answer/9282720

Friday April 19

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Saturday April 20

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Sunday April 21

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Monday April 22

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Tuesday April 23

9:00 am – 11:00 am
IN PERSON: Bird Watching and Bird Songs with the Sarasota Audubon Society
Sarasota Audubon Nature Center, 999 Center Rd, Sarasota, FL 34240, USA

2 Day Event, First Meeting is Virtual and we will learn about useful apps and literature, and prepare for in-person bird watching and bird songs. 2nd day of class is an in-person event at the Sarasota Audubon Nature Center.

This in-person event at the Audubon Nature Center at Celery Fields. Registration required.

Wednesday April 24

10:30 am – 12:00 pm
In-Person Venice Low Vision Support Group
Frances T. Bourne Jacaranda Library, 4143 Woodmere Park Blvd, Venice, FL 34293, USA

Host: Erin Vincent Family Engagement Coordinator at941-359-1404 Ext 713

Thursday April 25

2:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Highlands Walk & Talk
Lakeshore Mall, 901 US Hwy 27 N, Sebring, FL 33870, USA

Meeting place: Lakeshore entrance between JCPenny and Belks

Friday April 26

12:45 pm – 2:15 pm
Virtual/Zoom Support Group



Zoom Link:https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88049872031

Host: Erin & Gloria
Guest Speaker: Kelly Ward Falls Prevention Coordinator from Florida Department Of Health

Saturday April 27

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Sunday April 28

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Monday April 29

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Tuesday April 30

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

May 2024

Wednesday May 1

12:45 pm – 2:00 pm
Virtual Support Group

10 Client attendance limit for this group. Group will close once 10 clients are in attendance.

This group is intended to be a more personalized support group. The group will start with a 10 minute meditation.

Host: Erin & Gloria
Topic:

Join Zoom Meeting
https://lighthouseeducationcenter-org.zoom.us/j/84474426399?pwd=MEw7hW7Vtccdk9JCuE7EOxXMWRcbmE.1 (ID: 84474426399, passcode: 144795)

Join by phone
(US) +1 888-475-4499 (passcode: 144795)

Joining instructions: https://www.google.com/url?q=https://applications.zoom.us/addon/invitation/detail?meetingUuid%3DzGmsBX%252BvTTiUSK9G41SKag%253D%253D%26signature%3D56481c4d878cdd4c05cdc5a480ec51a6990aa16dc4aa89d26618d75e68a0f36b%26v%3D1&sa=D&source=calendar&usg=AOvVaw016doGHHVWV5RUdPwAkrtJ

Meeting host: erin.vincent@lighthouseeducationcenter.org

Join Zoom Meeting:
https://lighthouseeducationcenter-org.zoom.us/j/84474426399?pwd=MEw7hW7Vtccdk9JCuE7EOxXMWRcbmE.1

Thursday May 2

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Friday May 3

12:45 pm – 2:00 pm
Virtual/Zoom Support Group

Saturday May 4

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Sunday May 5

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Monday May 6

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Tuesday May 7

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Wednesday May 8

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Thursday May 9

10:30 am – 12:00 pm
In-Person Support Group
1506 Bayshore Garden Parkway, Bradenton, FL 34207
1:00 pm – 2:00 pm
In-Person Book Club-
1506 Bayshore Gardens Pkwy, Bradenton, FL 34207, USA

Come early for the support group at 11 AM
Windy City by Renee Rosen, DB 92167

Friday May 10

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Saturday May 11

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Sunday May 12

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Monday May 13

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Tuesday May 14

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Wednesday May 15

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Thursday May 16

2:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Virtual Book Club-

Zoom Link:https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88049872031
Meeting ID: 880 4987 2031
Phone: +1 (929) 205-6099
One tap mobile: +16465588656,,88049872031#

Join with Google Meet: https://meet.google.com/awu-soos-rpu
Or dial: (US) +1 661-527-2825 PIN: 750017008#
More phone numbers: https://tel.meet/awu-soos-rpu?pin=9191060866620&hs=7

Learn more about Meet at: https://support.google.com/a/users/answer/9282720

Friday May 17

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Saturday May 18

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Sunday May 19

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Monday May 20

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Tuesday May 21

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Wednesday May 22

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Thursday May 23

2:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Highlands Walk & Talk
Lakeshore Mall, 901 US Hwy 27 N, Sebring, FL 33870, USA

Meeting place: Lakeshore entrance between JCPenny and Belks

Friday May 24

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Saturday May 25

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Sunday May 26

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Monday May 27

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...

Tuesday May 28

All Day
Nothing scheduled yet...
Timezone: America/New_York